Football replay reviews are worthless

Posted 10 years ago by Evan Tishuk

This uncalled block in the back (video) lead to a touchdown return. And this interception was not only negated, it was somehow deemed an "indisputable" catch (1). I have lost faith in humanity.

9 Comments

Jim ~ 10 years ago

Give it up for Ron Cherry, longtime anti-Clemson official.

Adam ~ 10 years ago

At least us USC fans are man enough to not blame our losses on the officials. I'm just sayin' ...

Adam Gautsch ~ 10 years ago

That's right, you never hear a Gamecock fan complain that Rod Gardner pushed off. Never.

Jim ~ 10 years ago

Besides, I never blamed the loss on him, I just said it was a jacked up play that he obvioiusly missed and it isn't the first time he's been responsible for a blown call that hurt us. All I'm saying is he might should be responsible for his blown calls, especially when they have a significant impact on the game.

Evan Tishuk ~ 10 years ago

I agree with Jim 100%. I know there's a review board that hears complaints and reprimands serious lapses in referee judgement. I dare anyone to watch the replay of the Clemson v. Boston College game (and the GT v. Notre Dame game too) and show that serious mistakes weren't made. Before the replay rule, it was easier to absorb those mistakes because we could say, "well, they're all just human. It's part of the game." But the replay is supposed to minimize those human mistakes. What happened in the GT/ND and CU/BC games (by the same crew no less) was an insult to the purpose of the replay and the game. I don't care what you say about "making excuses" -- it was bad for the game of football regardless of who was playing.

Evan Tishuk ~ 10 years ago

"On the runback, a block-in-the-back on red-shirt freshman linebacker Kavell Conner was not called. Bowden said Thursday that play was sent up to the ACC office by Clemson."

and

Later on Sports Information Director Tim Bourret confirmed that Clemson sent a tape to be reviewed by the ACC regarding what appeared to be a block in the back on LB Kavell Conner during Jeff Smith's 96-yard kickoff return for a touchdown to open the second half.

"We sent the film in," Bowden said.

Conner appeared to be in position to make the tackle before being blocked in the back.

I wonder what the coaches say in private film reviews when they see stuff like that?

Evan Tishuk ~ 10 years ago

The ACC has informed Clemson that officials missed a block in the back against linebacker Kavell Conner that sprung Boston College’s Jeff Smith for a 96-yard kickoff return for a touchdown

That's nice. I'd like to inform the ACC that everyone already knew that. Perhaps the ACC could inform the officiating crew that they need to find new jobs.

Jim ~ 10 years ago

A nice compilation put together by Shoeless Works:
[LINK]

Evan Tishuk ~ 10 years ago

Awesome. I'm glad someone compiled all that. I nearly forgot about the no-call on Chansi. I dislike the "we should have won despite..." Perhaps we should have, but why make excuses FOR THE REFS--who get paid to be professionals and who at least have the benefit of a "do over" with the replay rule. They should all be reprimanded.

For reservations, call office(800) 890-1702. Send fan mail to our work location at 101 N Main Street, Third Floor, Greenville, SC 29601 USA 34.850823 -82.398746
Lovingly crafted by orangecoat with some rights reserved, and a promise not to spam you.

Back to top